Height with Friends announce new album Rock and Roll for August 14th

By ajcolores

Posted in | Tags : , , , , , ,

Dan Keech has been recording and performing as Height since 1998. He added the 'with friends' in 2008 and made it more of a band, and less like a rapper with an anonymous crew. The cast is constantly revolving. They've somehow released a jaw-dropping fourteen albums and EP's, and have played over 500 shows around the globe. Height with Friends has yet to set the world on fire, but through years of work, they've turned a few heads without hype... or a fashion sense. The new record is called Rock and Roll, and it's out on August 14th on Friends/Cold Rhymes Records. The title is actually not a reference to the guitars on the record, but a nod to the wild spirit that inspired the songs as heard on the fiery, angular first single 'I Can't Stand To Be Refused', which premiered on Stereogum. The LP is informed by years of DIY touring, from Maryland to Moscow. The theme of the album is trying to keep faith and cut loose in a cynical reality.

LISTEN // 'I Can't Stand to be Refused'


While music has changed drastically over the years, Height welcomes that evolution as they never aim to represent one aesthetic or to merely be a part of just one scene. The goal is to keep making understated, moving music that comes from the heart. All of the writing and production of each album is handled in-house, yet they've been fortunate to collaborate with artists like Tobacco of Black Moth Super Rainbow, and have a history with Dan Deacon.

toured with Dan Deacon in '04 and '05, and was a part of the Wham City round robin tours Deacon put together in '06 and '08. He released the first Height with Friends record called Baltimore Highlands as well, and Height with Friends will be opening for Dan Deacon later this year from August through November (Kevin O' Meara, formerly of Videohippos, plays both with Dan Deacon and Height with Friends). Stay tuned for those dates, as well as full details for the August record release show in Baltimore on August 10th at Floristree.

Keech wrote most of the songs and played most of the instruments on the new record, whereas in the past he used to write raps to beats that people would make for him. He's flipped the process a bit -- now, he writes riffs, adds in his vocals, then constructs a beat that fits the song with an emphasis on the song as a whole over any musician or rapper shining individually. Many of Keech's friends added spice to the pot, including Baltimore producers Mickey Free and King Rhythm, as well as the members of Wye Oak. 


"This fall and spring we will never not be on the road,"
he says. The 2012 Height with Friends line-up will include, in addition to Kevin O’Meara (of Dan Deacon Ensemble), Lord Grunge (of Grand Buffet) and many more... coming and going as always.

Height with Friends - Rock and Roll- Out 8/14/12 onFriends/Cold Rhymes Records

  • I Can't Stand To Be Refused
  • Mustard Seed
  • Dead Motor
  • I Can't Stop Eating Sugar (Ed Schrader Cover)
  • Hard Work
  • Too Much Time
  • Triumph Over Sadness
  • Oswego Speedway
  • Moscow

Read the original article...

About The ajcolores

221, Mount Olimpus, Rheasilvia, Mars,
Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy
+1 (999) 999-99-99
Thank You. We will contact you as soon as possible.
Increase more than 700% of Email Subscribers!
Dolor aliquet augue augue sit magnis, magna aenean aenean et! Et tempor, facilisis cursus turpis tempor odio. Diam lorem auctor sit, a a? Lundium placerat mus massa nunc habitasse, arcu, etiam pulvinar.
  • Goblinus globalus fantumo tubus dia
  • Scelerisque cursus dignissim lopatico
  • Montes vutario lacus quis preambul den
  • Leftomato denitro oculus softam lorum
  • Spiratio dodenus christmas gulleria tix
  • Dualo fitemus lacus quis preambul pat
  • Montes vutario lacus quis digit turtulis
  We hate spam and never share your details.