Neil Sedaka releases new album ‘The Real Neil’

By ajcolores

Posted in | Tags : , , , , , ,

Having toured in 2009 simply accompanied by his piano, legendary singer, songwriter and musician Neil Sedaka releases The Real Neil. A collection of new songs (and a few classic songs from yesteryear) performed in their purest form simply with piano and voice “this is how my songs come to life, right here at the piano. This is the pure form of the song, the way I wrote them.”

Neil himself explains:

“The most challenging task for a songwriter is to write a simple tune but still bring an emotional feeling to it. After 60 years of writing, I am very proud of these new songs. This is my first acoustic album. Piano and voice, the pure form of the song, just the way I write them. The songs are very personal and come from my soul. It’s the culmination of all the years of writing. No frills. No production gimmicks.
WATCH // 'Calender Girl'

A “relentlessly high quality pop songwriter”(The Scotsman) Neil’s songs have been covered by dozens of artists from Frank Sinatra to Homer Simpson via Elvis, Elton, Abba and Cher. With a career spanning six decades, he has been inducted into the Songwriter's Hall of Fame, has had a street named after him in his hometown of Brooklyn, and was given a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. Having appeared as guest judge on American Idol and with the success of his song ‘Amarillo’ – thanks to Peter Kay and Tony Christie – the 21st century has seen yet another revival for Neil and, although now into his 70s, he shows no signs of slowing up.

The album closes with classically trained Neil’s first piano concerto ‘Manhattan Intermezzo’, recorded with the London Philharmonic Orchestra at Air Studios in London.

“At the suggestion of my co-producer Robert Cotto, I am very excited about the inclusion of the final track, my first piano concerto “Manhattan Intermezzo . As a lifelong New Yorker, I wanted the audience to feel the spirit of the city, exploring its melting pot of nationalities. I tried to incorporate the sounds of the city where I was born; Latin, Asian, Russian, Broadway and the New York of today and yesterday. Having studied at the Juilliard School, I was exposed and inspired by many different composers. I wanted to write something that was clearly American, in style and feel, but still keeping it distinctively Neil Sedaka. Writing pop songs is one thing. But, composing a serious piece gave me much more creative freedom. This is the result of all the music I’ve studied and played. I am very proud of this work.”
Neil Sedaka – The Real Neil tracklisting
  1. 1. Intro
  2. 2. Beginning to Breathe Again (Neil Sedaka)
  3. 3. You’ll Be There (Neil Sedaka)
  4. 4. You (Neil Sedaka)
  5. 5. Breaking Up is Hard to Do (Neil Sedaka/Howard Greenfield)
  6. 6. Laughter in the Rain (Neil Sedaka/Phil Cody)
  7. 7. Amarillo (Neil Sedaka/Howard Greenfield)
  8. 8. Broken Street of Dreams (Neil Sedaka)
  9. 9. Heart of Stone (Neil Sedaka)
  10. 10. It’s Hard to Say Goodbye (Neil Sedaka)
  11. 11. Queen of Hearts (Neil Sedaka/Howard Greenfield)
  12. 12. Everybody Knows (Neil Sedaka/Howard Greenfield)
  13. 13. Captured By Your Love (Neil Sedaka/Lui Marquez)
  14. 14. Runaway Lover (Neil Sedaka/Lui Marquez)
  15. 15. Mi Amor (Neil Sedaka/Lui Marquez)
  16. 16. Sweet Music (Neil Sedaka)
  17. 17. BONUS TRACK - Manhattan Intermezzo (Neil Sedaka)
Returning to Britain, Neil Sedaka will be on tour in October:
  • Saturday 6th October - Sage Gateshead
  • Monday 8th October - Glasgow Clyde Auditorium
  • Wednesday 10th October - The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester
  • Friday 12th October - Colston Hall Bristol
  • Monday 15th October - Symphony Hall, Birmingham
  • Wednesday 17th October - Royal Albert Hall, London (with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra)
  • Thursday 18th October - Royal Concert Hall Notttingham
  • Saturday 20th October - Bournemouth International Centre
  • Monday 22nd October - St David’s Hall, Cardiff
  • Wednesday 24th October - Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Read the original article...

About The ajcolores

221, Mount Olimpus, Rheasilvia, Mars,
Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy
+1 (999) 999-99-99
Thank You. We will contact you as soon as possible.
Increase more than 700% of Email Subscribers!
Dolor aliquet augue augue sit magnis, magna aenean aenean et! Et tempor, facilisis cursus turpis tempor odio. Diam lorem auctor sit, a a? Lundium placerat mus massa nunc habitasse, arcu, etiam pulvinar.
  • Goblinus globalus fantumo tubus dia
  • Scelerisque cursus dignissim lopatico
  • Montes vutario lacus quis preambul den
  • Leftomato denitro oculus softam lorum
  • Spiratio dodenus christmas gulleria tix
  • Dualo fitemus lacus quis preambul pat
  • Montes vutario lacus quis digit turtulis
  We hate spam and never share your details.