Tag Archives | gadsen records

The World is Matthewdavid’s

Peter Holslin wears a wizard hat to work When archeologists of the future set out to make sense of today’s enormous data piles, they might be puzzled by “In My World,” the title track off of L.A. beatmaker Matthewdavid’s forthcoming album on Brainfeeder (out July 1). A laid-back soul jam of delay-infused drums, rippling glitch… Continue reading »

After much anticipation following a Twitter exchange between…

After much anticipation following a Twitter exchange between Flume & Lorde, the rumored remix of Lorde’s album opener became a reality during the 1st weekend of Coachella. Then he dished out the remix again at his MTV Artist To Watch performance at New York’s Highline Ballroom. & today, we all get to listen to it as the Aussie producer releases the official audio of the remix online.

Also, don’t forget that Mom+Pop have just released the deluxe edition of Flume’s breakthrough self-titled record, complete with the incredible mixtape featuring Freddie Gibbs, Ghostface Killah, Autre Ne Veut, Killer Mike, Twin Shadow, How To Dress Well, + more. Get it on iTunes.

Catch Flume on tour this summer, but don’t snooze on tickets, as many dates have already sold out, with the rest expected to well in advance.

Photo by Gabriele Tozzi.

FLUME TOUR DATES:

Fri. July 18 – New York, NY at Terminal 5
Sat. July 19 – Toronto, ON at Time Festival
Sun. July 20 – Louisville, KY at Forecastle Festival
Thu. July 24 – Washington, DC at 9:30 Club
Fri. July 25 – Philadelphia, PA at Union Transfer
Sat. July 26 – Fort Lauderdale, FL at Revolution Live (Mad Decent Block Party)
Sun. July 27 – Atlanta, GA at Masquerade Music Park (Mad Decent Block Party)
Tue. July 29 – Boston, MA at Royale
Wed. July 30 – Burlington, VT at Higher Ground
Fri. Aug. 1 – Montreal, QC at Osheaga Festival
Sun. Aug. 3 – Chicago, IL at Lollapalooza
Tue. Aug. 5 – Denver, CO at Red Rocks
Thu. Aug. 7 – Brooklyn, NY at Brooklyn Bowl
Sun. Aug. 10 – San Francisco, CA at Outside Lands
Thu. Aug. 14 – Hasselt, BE at Pukkelpop
Fri. Aug. 15 – Biddinghuizen, AN at Lowlands
Sat. Aug. 16 – Beaucaire, FR at Positiv
Sun. Aug. 17 – Hamburg-Wilhelmsburg, DE at Dockville
Wed. Aug. 20 – Nice, FR at Theatre de Verdure
Thu. Aug. 21 – Charleville, FR at Cabaret Vert Festival
Fri. Aug. 22 – at Reading, UK at Reading Festival
Sat. Aug. 23 – Paris, FR at Rock en Seine
Sun. Aug. 24 – Leeds, UK at Leeds Festival
Thu. Aug. 28 – Zurich, CH at Open Air

Ben Frost – “Nolan”

About a month from now, noise artist Ben Frost will put out his new album, A U R O R A, and it’s an absolute monster. We’ve already heard the first single, “Venter,” a track that slowly built pressure like a dormant volcano before exploding more than four minutes in. The newest song, “Nolan,” waits [...]



The Jazz June – “Over Underground”

The Jazz June is among the more unsung emo heroes of yesteryear. The Pennsylvania combo doesn’t have the same name recognition as fellow reunited emo bands like Sunny Day Real Estate, Owls, American Football, or Braid, but judging from Evan Weiss’ enthusiasm when he told me he was producing the Jazz June’s upcoming album during [...]



Hear The Horrors Cover Frankie Knuckles’ “Your Love”

The Horrors are basically a psychedelic synths-and-guitars band, but they’re also the sort of band who gleefully defies categorization. And as it turns out, they’re the type of band who can knock out an awesome cover of a Chicago house classic at will. The Chicago house music originator Frankie Knuckles died a few weeks ago, [...]



btt